Linguistics

I am not unsure of what to do with myself. I feel like linguistics is my true calling, but I’m torn, as I always have been, about what I’m going to do with a degree in linguistics. After a year in a Speech-Language Pathology program in Minnesota, I decided that it wasn’t for me. I again started to teach English, this time in China, but I have recently been asked to extend my contract. One of the biggest issues I came across was the general misconception of language. I truly want to change the way that people and professionals think about language. It is not learned by the grammar-translation method first of all, as many people learn here. It may be helpful as a first account introduction into L2 acquisition, but is by no means the backbone of it. I do enjoy being the means by which people learn language, but I am tired of teaching in a system that prefers translation over immersion. I, myself, am a specimen of language acquisition as a result of immersion; having never explicitly learned, I can speak Chinese Mandarin fluently, and although I’m not as fluent as I’d like, I can read and speak Spanish (even better than some local English teachers here). I’m not sure specifically what I would do with a master’s degree, but I know it would be required to be employed as an expert on language. I wish there was a reliable way to search my interest areas across graduate programs all over the world. I was thinking neurolinguistics, psycholinguistics, or applied linguistics…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

